Contact the county clerk or recorder where the principal place of business for the company is located about business licenses, fictitious business names, zoning, building and permits.

These links will take you to the website for each county in California.

Alameda http://www.acgov.org
Alpine http://www.alpinecountyca.gov
Amador http://www.co.amador.ca.us
Butte http://www.buttecounty.net
Calaveras calaverasgov.us
Colusa www.countyofcolusa.org
Contra Costa http://www.co.contra-costa.ca.us
Del Norte www.co.del-norte.ca.us
El Dorado www.edcgov.us/CountyClerk
Glenn http://www.countyofglenn.net
Humboldt http://co.humboldt.ca.us/
Imperial http://co.imperial.ca.us
Kern http://www.co.kern.ca.us
Kings http://www.countyofkings.com
Lake http://www.co.lake.ca.us
Lassen http://www.co.lassen.ca.us
Los Angeles http://www.lacounty.info
Madera http://www.madera-county.com
Marin http://www.co.marin.ca.us
Mariposa http://www.mariposacounty.org
Mendocino http://www.co.mendocino.ca.us
Merced http://www.co.merced.ca.us
Modoc (no web site)
Mono http://www.monocounty.ca.gov
Monterey http://www.co.monterey.ca.us
Napa http://www.co.napa.ca.us
Orange http://egov.ocgov.com/portal/site/ocgov/
Placer http://www.placer.ca.gov
Plumas http://www.countyofplumas.com
Riverside www.countyofriverside.us
Sacramento http://www.saccounty.net
San Benito http://www.san-benito.ca.us
San Bernardino https://www.sbcounty.gov
San Diego http://www.co.san-diego.ca.us
San Francisco http://www.ci.sf.ca.us
San Joaquin http://www.sjgov.org/business.aspx
San Luis Obispo www.slocounty.ca.gov/tax/businesslicense.htm
San Mateo www.co.sanmateo.ca.us
Santa Barbara http://www.countyofsb.org/business.aspx
Santa Clara http://www.sccgov.org/portal/site/scc
Santa Cruz http://www.co.santa-cruz.ca.us
Shasta http://www.co.shasta.ca.us
Sierra http://www.sierracounty.ws
Siskiyou http://www.co.siskiyou.ca.us
Solano http://www.co.solano.ca.us
Sonoma http://www.sonoma-county.org/
Sutter http://www.co.sutter.ca.us
Tehama (no web site)
Trinity http://www.trinitycounty.org
Tulare http://www.co.tulare.ca.us
Tuolumne (no web site)
Ventura http://www.countyofventura.org/dept.asp
Yolo http://www.yolocounty.org
Yuba http://www.co.yuba.ca.us

Related: California State Agencies California Licensing Authorities | Incorporation Resources for California